Refuge du Gouter

I still not believe what happen to me last Sunday August 16th while being at Gouter hut: As everyone else I got up at 2.00am to prepare the ascent to Montblanc, after 2h our 3 climbers rope had already made the first half of the ascent, 500 m up at Dome du Gouter. My breath was difficult and after thinking about it not too long I decided to descend. At 6 am I was at the hut again and decided to rest in the cabin for a while. I left my headlamp and a bottle of isotonic water on a little shelf just above my head. At 8 am I wake up alone in the room and went out the hut to take some fresh air. I suddendly realize I left my stuff inside, so I decided to come back to pick it up. Guess what… The room was being cleaned up by the hut staff and there were no headlamp nor water. I asked Claude and Nadine Barnier (the guards) whether they found my stuff during the cleaning. Claude’s response was quite clear: “Bad luck, bad luck” – he said without even looking at me (he was cleaning something in the kitcheen). “didn’t you find anything? there was also a bottle of water?” I replied. Unbelievably, he picked up a crashed bottle he was about to trash, half filled with water and give it to me not gently- “here you are, is that ok?” – he replied crudely. I did not take the bottle and I did not say anything else, it was evident to me they didn’t want to return my headlamp to me.

You know, I like mountains a lot and so I do like mountaineers. I kind of dislike hut staffs that show too much their business side – if you climb up there, be aware of their prohibitive tarifs: bottle of water (5 euros), potato omelette (18 euros) – , but I hate altitude-thieves!  I cannot understand how someone, supposedly a mountain guard, can behave so badly.

If you want to climb Montblanc, try to avoid Gouter hut! There are other (better?) routes like The Cosmiques, Grand Muletes and Aiguilles Grises.

Aquesta entrada s'ha publicat en huts, Mountains i etiquetada amb , , , , , . Afegiu a les adreces d'interès l'enllaç permanent.

Deixa un comentari

